Spotlight on the Newbery and Caldecott Winners

DiCamilloFlocaThe Newbery and Caldecott Medals honor outstanding writing and illustration of works published in the United States during the previous year and are the most prestigious awards in children’s literature. By now, most folks know that Kate DiCamillo, author of Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures (Candlewick), and Brian Floca, illustrator of Locomotive (Atheneum), are the 2014 winners of the John Newbery and Randolph Caldecott Medals.

DiCamillo, a resident of Minneapolis, has previously received Newbery recognition for “The Tale of Despereaux,” the 2004 Medal winner, and Floca“Because of Winn-Dixie,” a 2001 Honor Book. DiCamillo was recently named 2014-2015 National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature too, so it is simply satisfying to have a Minnesotan doing so well this year!

The full press release includes details about the authors and these books, along with lists of books that got honorable mentions.

Read the full ALA press release now….