MN Legislative Update

Capital SunsetThe following legislative update was written by Elaine Keefe, library lobbyist for the Minnesota Library Association (MLA) and Information Technology Educators of MN (ITEM).

Received Wednesday, November 5, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Statewide Races:  Last night Governor Dayton was re-elected with just over 50% of the vote.  It is the first time since 1994 that a Minnesota governor was elected with more than 50% of the vote.  Attorney General Lori Swanson and State Auditor Rebecca Otto were re-elected and Steve Simon was elected Secretary of State, completing a DFL sweep of the state constitutional offices.

Minnesota House of Representatives:  Republicans picked up 11 seats and won a 72-62 majority in the House.  No Republican incumbents were defeated.  11 DFL incumbents were defeated.  10 of those who were defeated represented Greater Minnesota.  6 of them were in their first term.

The incumbents who were defeated are:

Rep. Roger Erickson (DFL – Baudette)

Rep. Joe Radinovich (DFL – Crosby)

Rep. John Ward (DFL – Baxter)

Rep. Tim Faust (DFL – Hinckley)

Rep. Jay McNamar (DFL – Elbow Lake)

Rep. Zach Dorholt (DFL – St. Cloud)

Rep. Andrew Falk (DFL – Murdock)

Rep. Mary Sawazky (DFL – Willmar)

Rep. Patti Fritz (DFL – Faribault)

Rep. Shannon Savick (DFL – Wells)

Rep. Will Morgan (DFL – Burnsville)

Contact Your House Member:  Now is the ideal time to send a friendly note congratulating your House member on being elected or re-elected.  Offer to be a resource to him or her on any library issues.  You can find contact information for all new and returning House members in a directory posted on the House website:

Elaine Keefe
Capitol Hill Associates
525 Park Street, Suite 310
St. Paul, MN 55103
office 651-293-0229
cell 612-590-1244

Image credit:, licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0