2014 TIES award winners

CMLE would like to wish congratulations to the following CMLE members who received awards at TIES.

You can also see a full list of tech awards and exceptional teacher awards.

The Sauk Rapids-Rice Technology Team received the Technology Leadership Team Award: Erich Martens (high school principal), Laura Mackenthun (technology integrationist), Scott McCabe (network manager), and Kim Eisenschenk (business manager).

“This honor goes to a district technology team that has significantly made a difference in the use of technology to improve education. A team consists of key leaders such as the superintendent, technology and curriculum directors, teachers, parents, students, school board members, community members and representatives of cultural entities such as museums and libraries, and state education networks.”


The Exceptional Teacher Awards:

Rachelle Weinand Rachelle has been a pillar in the Media/Tech Department for the last 15 years. She has spearheaded or worked behind the scenes of every media or technology initiative the school district has pushed out in that time. She is a cognoscente of the latest technology, always exploring new and innovative possibilities and sharing them with staff and students. She uses best practices in instruction and technology integration whenever she team teaches, leads a training session for staff, or teaches students in the media center. Rachelle runs a “tight ship” in her media center and students and teachers know they can count on her to help them with whatever problem, research idea, or troubleshooting they need; while also being an authority on literacy and literature. Rachelle is the Media/Tech/Support staff for North Branch Area Public Schools.

Jesse Robertson Jesse Robertson has been instrumental in technology integration in District #2687 since his arrival last year. During his short time in our district, he has overseen the development and rollout of a high school 1-to-1 Chromebook program. His expertise and insight into technology has assisted the entire high school community to expand the walls of the classrooms beyond what we thought was possible only a few years ago. In addition to the Chromebook program, he is a “go to” expert for students and staff who need training in various areas such as Google Docs, SMARTBoard technologies, online data systems, as well as trouble-shooting our computers and Chromebooks. Jesse Robertson easily fits the profile of a TIES award winner and there is no doubt that through his skillset he will continue to grow our school community to become a leader in the use of technology in educational settings. Jesse is the Technology Teacher at Howard Lake-Waverly-Winstead (HLWW) Middle School.

Dihanna Fedder Ms. Fedder has been a proponent of increasing opportunities and accessibility to student use of technology. She has been active on the district technology committee advocating for the use of 1:1 devices. Dihanna has been an advocate of first iPads and now the use of chromebooks for all students. Our school is close to a 1:1 technology environment because of her vision. Ms. Fedder has been the district leader in creating policies, procedures and training for students and parents. Her constant focus and support, help staff see the benefits of the devices’ use as opposed to roadblocks in implementation. Ms. Fedder has improved classroom instruction by being a district leader and trainer in areas such as: Google Drive components, online student management systems such as Google Classroom and Schoology, iPad apps for students and teacher efficiency apps. She has been a leader by rewarding staff for “Making a splash in the SAMR pool” using Carl Hooker’s model. Recognition for staff has included positive reinforcement, recognition at staff meetings, and tangible rewards such as t-shirts noting their utilization of technology in their classrooms. Ms. Fedder also makes annual reports to the school board and curriculum committee on technology initiatives, usage, and impact on student programming. Dihanna is the District Technology Integrationist for Pine City School District.

Congratulations to all winners!