And the ALA Book Award Winners Are….

The ALA (American Library Association) Book Award Winners were announced on Monday, February 2nd at 8:00 AM.  The announcement took place as part of the ALA Youth Media Awards, which were presented at the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibition in Chicago, IL.  Youth Media Awards recipients are determined by committees of librarians and other experts in literature and media.  Here are five of the 30+ book awards that were presented:

The Crossover  John Newbery Medal
  The Crossover
  by Kwame Alexander
published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt



The Adventures of Beekle - The Unimaginary Friend  Randolph Caldecott Medal
  The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend
  by Dan Santat
published by Little, Brown and Company (a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.)



I'll Give You The Sun  Michael L. Printz Award
  I’ll Give You the Sun
  by Jandy Nelson
published by Dial Books (an imprint of Penguin Group USA, a Penguin Random House Company)



Brown Girl Dreaming  Coretta Scott King Book Award – Author
  Brown Girl Dreaming
  by Jacqueline Woodson
published by Nancy Paulsen Books (an imprint of Penguin Group [USA] LLC.)



  Coretta Scott King Book Award – Illustrator
  illustrated by Christopher Myers
written by Misty Copeland
published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons (an imprint of Penguin Group [USA] LLC.)


For more information on the ALA Book Awards, check out Joyce Valenza’s post on the School Library Journal website (In case you missed the hoopla live. . .).  Her post includes links to a list of all the 2015 winners, a webcast of the awards, and many other resources related to young adult books.

See also: Booklist: YALSA’s Best Fiction for Young Adults, a part of the 2015 ALA Book Awards.