Tag Archives: book award

ALA 2017 Youth Media Award Winners

It’s award season! On Monday, Jan. 23rd, ALA announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults. Some of the awards announced include: Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards. Check out our previous article about Minnesota author Kelly Barnhill’s win of the Newbery award!

See below for a few examples of awards and winners!
Continue reading ALA 2017 Youth Media Award Winners

Minnesotan winner of Newbery Award!

This week it was announced that Minnesota author Kelly Barnhill won the Newbery Medal for her book The Girl Who Drank The Moon.

This article from the St. Cloud Times describes the plot of the book, in which a village fears a witch that lives in the nearby woods and to keep her happy (so they think) they bring a newborn baby to her forest each year. But the witch is actually good, and brings the babies to be with families on the other side of the woods.

In the article, Barnhill shares how the book can easily translate to real life situations for her young readers: “This notion of rumor spreading and of getting the wrong idea about a person,” she said, “that’s like real stuff for these kids, that’s what their life is like right now.” Barnhill is a teacher in Minneapolis for a nonprofit arts organization, and really enjoys interacting with the kids that read her books, and hearing how they interpret the story.

Fox Animation has acquired the rights to The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Barnhill looks forward to the interpretation into film.

You can read about another of Barnhill’s books, The Witch’s Boy, in this article from MPR, and keep an eye out for her next novel, The Sugar House, which should be released next year.





Nominations Open for Minnesota Book Awards

MN BANominations for the 28th Annual Minnesota Book Awards are open now through December 4, 2015! Visit the nomination page for more information or to nominate your favorite book of 2015! Keep in mind that the book must be written by a Minnesota resident, published in 2015, and fit into one of eight categories: Children’s Literature, General Nonfiction, Genre Fiction, Memoir & Creative Nonfiction, Minnesota, Novel & Short Story, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature.

Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award Winners Announced!

Maud Hart Lovelace AwardOn Saturday, April 25th, the Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award winners were announced!  Saturday would have been the Minnesota author’s 123rd birthday.  And the winners are. . .

Division I

Belly Up Ghost Dog Secrets Guinea Dog
First place: Belly Up by Stuart Gibbs Second place: Ghost Dog Secrets by Peg Kehret Third place: Guinea Dog by Patrick Jennings


Division II

Breathing Room Cinder The False Prince
First place: Breathing Room by Marsha Hayles Second place: Cinder by Marissa Meyer Third place: The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen


You can learn more about the award, or more about Maud Hart Lovelace herself!

And the ALA Book Award Winners Are….

The ALA (American Library Association) Book Award Winners were announced on Monday, February 2nd at 8:00 AM.  The announcement took place as part of the ALA Youth Media Awards, which were presented at the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibition in Chicago, IL.  Youth Media Awards recipients are determined by committees of librarians and other experts in literature and media.  Here are five of the 30+ book awards that were presented:

The Crossover  John Newbery Medal
  The Crossover
  by Kwame Alexander
published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt



The Adventures of Beekle - The Unimaginary Friend  Randolph Caldecott Medal
  The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend
  by Dan Santat
published by Little, Brown and Company (a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.)



I'll Give You The Sun  Michael L. Printz Award
  I’ll Give You the Sun
  by Jandy Nelson
published by Dial Books (an imprint of Penguin Group USA, a Penguin Random House Company)



Brown Girl Dreaming  Coretta Scott King Book Award – Author
  Brown Girl Dreaming
  by Jacqueline Woodson
published by Nancy Paulsen Books (an imprint of Penguin Group [USA] LLC.)



  Coretta Scott King Book Award – Illustrator
  illustrated by Christopher Myers
written by Misty Copeland
published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons (an imprint of Penguin Group [USA] LLC.)


For more information on the ALA Book Awards, check out Joyce Valenza’s post on the School Library Journal website (In case you missed the hoopla live. . .).  Her post includes links to a list of all the 2015 winners, a webcast of the awards, and many other resources related to young adult books.

See also: Booklist: YALSA’s Best Fiction for Young Adults, a part of the 2015 ALA Book Awards.