Some CMLE Information

The Central Minnesota Libraries Exchange (CMLE) is one of seven regional multitype library systems. We support all types of libraries.

This program began from legislation in May 1979. The entire state was divided into seven multitype systems, developing common ways for libraries of different types (public, academic, school and special) to work together.

Each regional center serves specific clusters of counties and tailors its services to the expressed needs in their region. View this map of the multitype regions, and other information about each organization.

  • CMLE’s mission is to serve as the Central Minnesota library hub, a clearinghouse of talent, materials, and expertise for all types of libraries. CMLE leads, supports, encourages, engages, and connects library personnel with the resources they need.
  • CMLE serves 12 Central Minnesota counties: Aitkin, Benton, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd and Wright.
  • Member libraries include K-12, academic, public and special libraries.
  • Headquarter staff work directly with librarians, library staff,  and school media personnel, who are then able to better serve their community’s needs.
  • Members join and maintain membership at no charge to their libraries.
  • Legislative state aid is disbursed through State Library Services, Minnesota Department of Education.
  • Services comply with MN Statute 134.351 and are planned by the Director, Governing Board and with member feedback.


Do you have other questions? Just fill out the comment box below, and we will be ready to help you!

Leave a Reply

We support libraries!