MN Book Award Nominations are Open!

Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library


Save the Date!
Be sure to mark your calendar for the 21st Annual Minnesota Book Awards gala. The ceremony will be held on Saturday, April 25, 2009 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel – Saint Paul Riverfront. Last year’s event was a sellout, so make your reservation early. Information available in early 2009.

Multiply Your Gift to the Book Awards With Help From a Challenge Grant
Even a small gift can provide meaningful help, particularly when matched by the Katherine B. Andersen Fund of The Saint Paul Foundation.

Attention Writers!
Visit the Loft Literary Center to find out about the 2008 Loft Inroads Program that offers writers the opportunity to engage in nine weeks of craft seminars, individual conferences and public readings, all with an established local mentor sharing the participant’s ethnic heritage:

2008 Winning Titles Posters and Bookmarks Now Available
Get yours at your local library today! If you would like a quantity for your bookstore, library or school, contact

Minnesota Book Awards free bookmark

The Minnesota Book Awards is a Capital City project, led by The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library, in consortium with the Saint Paul Public Library and the Office of the Mayor of Saint Paul. Outreach partners and supporting organizations include: the Metropolitan Library Service Agency; Minnesota Department of Education—State Library Services; Minnesota Library Association; and Library Networks for Literature—a project of the Public Programs Office of the American Library Association.

Book Nominations Open


Nominations for the 21st annual Minnesota Book Awards are open now through Friday, December 12, 2008.  The eight categories in which books may be entered are Children’s Literature, General Nonfiction, Genre Fiction, Memoir & Creative Nonfiction, Minnesota, Novel & Short Story, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature.  Anyone may nominate an eligible book by completing the nomination form and submitting five non-returnable copies of the book, plus the $40 nomination fee, to The Friends’ office.  Nomination forms and the eligibility and entry guidelines are available online at or by calling 651/366-6497.

Meet the 2008 Winners!

The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library presents a two-part conversation series with 2008 Book Awards winners and moderator Mary Ann Grossmann, Pioneer Press books editor.  Both events take place in the Magazine Room of Saint Paul Central Library, 90 West Fourth Street.

The first program takes place this Sunday, September 28 at 2 p.m.  You’ll enjoy time with Children’s Literature winner Lynne Jonell (Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat), Readers’ Choice honoree Jill Kalz (Farmer Cap) and Young Adult Literature winner Will Weaver (Defect).

Be sure to return the following Sunday, October 5 at 2 p.m. for these featured authors:  General Nonfiction winner Charles Baxter (The Art of Subtext:  Beyond Plot), Memoir & Creative Nonfiction winner Patricia Hampl (The Florist’s Daughter), Minnesota winner Doug Hoverson (Land of Amber Waters: The History of Brewing in Minnesota), Poetry winner Deborah Keenan (Willow Room, Green Door) and Novel & Short Story winner Wang Ping (The Last Communist Virgin).  For more information, visit us online at


Apply to be a Judge


Applications for preliminary and final round judges are being accepted for the eight book categories.  Volunteer judge applications and eligibility requirements are available online at or by calling 651/336-6497.  Qualified individuals new to the book judging process as well as experienced judges are encouraged to apply.  The deadline for applications is Friday, October 10, 2008.


Book Artist Award Nominations


Nominations are also open for the 2009 Minnesota Book Artist Award.  This annual award, sponsored by the Minnesota Book Awards and Minnesota Center for Book Arts, recognizes a book artist or long-standing book artist collaborative group for excellence of artistic work, as well as significant contributions to Minnesota’s book artist community.  Details about this award and nomination materials are available at or by calling 651/366-6497.  Nominations remain open until Friday, November 7, 2008.